Google Analytics counts our visits, with cookies. No thanks turns it off and removes its cookies; in Europe, the UK, Switzerland and India, or wherever we cannot tell where you are, it stays off unless you accept. Cookie Notice

Advertise
PRICES

← Back to Originals

InvestIn.News OriginalReported

HSBC launches Hong Kong dollar stablecoin RedCoin for 3.3 million PayMe users

HSBC rolled out its Hong Kong dollar-backed RedCoin on 23 October, giving more than 3.3 million PayMe users a way to pay friends and merchants, with a mobile banking app wallet planned by year-end.

Why it matters: It is one of the first bank-issued stablecoins in the city and could bring tokenised investments to everyday retail users.

·Founder · Markets desk · 5 min read

Reviewed and fact-checked by Jayshree Majumdar on 23 Oct 2026

Share
Illustration: “HSBC launches Hong Kong dollar stablecoin RedCoin”, with bank, wallet, dollar icons in InvestIn.News colours

In short

  • HSBC launched RedCoin, its HKD-backed stablecoin, on PayMe on 23 October 2026.
  • More than 3.3 million PayMe users can send RedCoin to friends and pay over 100,000 merchants.
  • HSBC plans to add a RedCoin wallet to its banking app by year-end for tokenised fund subscriptions from HK$100.
  • HSBC has not disclosed which blockchain RedCoin runs on or whether it can leave HSBC's own apps.

RedCoin goes live on PayMe

HSBC launched RedCoin, its first Hong Kong dollar-backed stablecoin, on 23 October 2026 through PayMe, the bank's mobile payments app used by more than 3.3 million people. From launch, PayMe users can send RedCoin between friends and pay at more than 100,000 merchants, according to The Standard. The launch was first reported by the South China Morning Post, and The Block confirmed the stablecoin went live on Friday.

HSBC runs PayMe, a payments app that people use to send money to one another. A stablecoin is a digital token designed to hold a steady value, usually backed one-for-one by a conventional currency and reserve assets. HSBC says RedCoin can be exchanged one-for-one for the local currency and is backed by segregated assets, The Standard and investingLive report. According to investingLive, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority issued its first stablecoin issuer licences to HSBC and Anchorpoint Financial on 10 April.

How PayMe users activate RedCoin

HSBC said PayMe users can turn on a RedCoin wallet once they update the app, without needing a minimum balance or a separate account application. They can then transfer money instantly to other PayMe users or pay merchants via a screen that works much like today's PayMe, the South China Morning Post reported. Lawrence Li, who heads PayMe, told the SCMP that the opening stage was focused on reliable service, sparing customers additional friction and gaining their confidence. The Standard reported that HSBC tested the whole process with almost 100 staff, covering minting, wallet set-up and real transfers.

Why RedCoin stays inside HSBC apps

Ordinary PayMe users will notice little difference from a PayMe balance, because for now RedCoin works only inside HSBC's own apps. According to investingLive, HSBC has yet to disclose which blockchain the token runs on, or whether holders will ever be able to send it to an external wallet. Nor is RedCoin a token that traders can buy on a crypto exchange, and it has no direct bearing on Bitcoin or Ether. At the time of writing (06:17 UTC on 23 October 2026), Bitcoin (BTC) traded at $81,805, down 1.12% in 24 hours, with a market value of $1.64tn, according to InvestIn.News market data.

What X users are saying

Users on X said HSBC is bringing traditional finance into stablecoins with little fanfare. Naksh (@Naksh005) said the bank is rolling out a Hong Kong dollar-backed stablecoin to 3.3 million PayMe users while traditional finance keeps moving in quietly. Satoshi Drops (@SatoshiDropsHQ) argued that distribution matters more than technology, because putting a Hong Kong dollar stablecoin into 3.3 million existing wallets skips the onboarding problem that crypto-native issuers still face. Adam Juchniewicz (@xbitcoinlawyer), a Bitcoin lawyer, said a bank stablecoin is a bank account with a new interface, run by the same issuer with the same freeze button and rules, and is not the same as holding Bitcoin. Logan (@0xCryptoDeg3n) and Crypto Shifter (@ShifterCrypto) joked about Premiere airdrops and exit liquidity.

hsbc rolling out a hong kong dollar-backed stablecoin to 3.3M payme users? tradfi keeps quietly moving in

Naksh @Naksh005 · · View on X

Distribution beats tech. Dropping a HKD stablecoin straight into 3.3M existing PayMe wallets skips the onboarding problem every crypto-native issuer is still fighting.

Satoshi Drops 🪂 @SatoshiDropsHQ · · View on X

Any air drops to other HSBC Premier customers worldwide??? 😄

Logan @0xCryptoDeg3n · · View on X

A bank stablecoin is just a bank account with a new interface.

Same issuer, same freeze button, same rules.

Useful for payments.

Not the same thing as holding Bitcoin.

Adam Juchniewicz | Bitcoin Lawyer @xbitcoinlawyer · · View on X

hsbc rolling out a stablecoin to millions of users

meanwhile i can't even roll out of my bags

exit liquidity is a lifestyle

Crypto Shifter @ShifterCrypto · · View on X

Year-end app and tokenised funds

John O'Neill, who leads digital assets and currencies at HSBC as managing director, said the bank will add a stablecoin wallet to its mobile banking app in the city later this year. That would let customers put money into tokenised investment products, including a share class of HSBC's HKD money market fund that is set to launch shortly, The Standard reported. The tokenised money market fund would take subscriptions from HK$100, with tokenised gold and third-party funds to follow afterwards. O'Neill added that wholesale corporate and institutional use cases are also due shortly.

Questions readers ask

Which banks are launching stablecoins?

HSBC launched RedCoin, its HKD-backed stablecoin, on 23 October 2026 through PayMe. Anchorpoint Financial, a joint venture of Standard Chartered Hong Kong, HKT and Animoca Brands, began rolling out its HKDAP stablecoin in August. Both are licensed by the HKMA.

What is an HSBC token?

HSBC RedCoin is an HKD-backed stablecoin, a digital token designed to hold a steady value and redeemable one-for-one for the local currency. It is available through PayMe and will later be added to the bank's mobile banking app, where customers could subscribe to tokenised funds from HK$100.

Can HSBC RedCoin be sent to external wallets?

Not yet. HSBC has not disclosed which blockchain RedCoin runs on or whether it can leave HSBC's own apps. For now it works only inside PayMe and the planned HSBC mobile banking app, and regulators have warned that any token trading under the RedCoin name is not HSBC's product.

Our view

At InvestIn.News, we think RedCoin is best understood as a bank-issued cousin of USDT and USDC, but for now it behaves more like a UPI-style balance than a crypto asset. Its appeal is practical: a licensed bank stands behind a token redeemable one-for-one for the local currency, and the same wallet could make cross-border and app-to-app transfers cheaper and faster.

The launch's real significance lies in distribution. HSBC already has more than 3.3 million PayMe users and about 100,000 merchants, so RedCoin skips the onboarding problem crypto-native stablecoins still fight.

The limits matter too. It lives only inside HSBC's apps for now, and no public blockchain or external wallet access has been disclosed. The story becomes stronger if HSBC opens RedCoin to outside wallets and delivers the year-end tokenised fund subscription from HK$100.

Follow the latest as it happens on Stablecoins NewsFeeds.

Keshav Aggarwal

What to watch: Watch whether HSBC adds the RedCoin wallet to its Hong Kong app by year-end and how many PayMe users actually activate it.

Sources

Live updates on NewsFeeds:StablecoinsBy Keshav Aggarwal

Disclosure: Keshav Aggarwal holds small amounts of crypto as long-term investments. He does not trade any asset he writes about within 24 hours of a story, and is not paid by any company covered on this site, updated 6 October 2026. Our holdings and trading policy.

How this was produced: the writer drafted this piece with AI help, from the reporting and sources it names, then checked and edited it. Read our Editorial and AI policy. Spotted a mistake? See Corrections.

Not investment advice. Read the risk disclaimer.

← Back to Originals